brics 2014 fortalezaFortaleza. - Die Schwellenländer Brasilien, Russland, Indien, China und Südafrika (BRICS) haben ihren Ankündigungen Taten folgen lassen und der Ungleichheit im Weltwirtschaftssystem eine eigene Entwicklungsbank (New Development Bank, NDB) entgegengesetzt. Die NDB soll den Verlautbaren des BRICS-Gipfels in Fortaleza (Brasilien) zufolge in Ergänzung zum Internationalen Währungsfonds und der Weltbank arbeiten, ist de facto jedoch eine Konkurrenz-Institution zu den von den USA nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg gegründeten Bretton-Woods-Institutionen Weltbank und Internationaler Währungsfonds (IWF). dokumentiert die entscheidenden Passagen der Erklärung von Fortaleza. 

Sixth BRICS Summit – Fortaleza Declaration

July 15, 2014

1. We, the leaders of the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Russian Federation, the Republic of India, the People’s Republic of China and the Republic of South Africa, met in Fortaleza, Brazil, on 15 July 2014 at the Sixth BRICS Summit. To inaugurate the second cycle of BRICS Summits, the theme chosen for our discussions was "Inclusive Growth: Sustainable Solutions”, in keeping with the inclusive macroeconomic and social policies carried out by our governments and the imperative to address challenges to humankind posed by the need to simultaneously achieve growth, inclusiveness, protection and preservation.


11. BRICS, as well as other EMDCs, continue to face significant financing constraints to address infrastructure gaps and sustainable development needs. With this in mind, we are pleased to announce the signing of the Agreement establishing the New Development Bank (NDB), with the purpose of mobilizing resources for infrastructure and sustainable development projects in BRICS and other emerging and developing economies. We appreciate the work undertaken by our Finance Ministers. Based on sound banking principles, the NDB will strengthen the cooperation among our countries and will supplement the efforts of multilateral and regional financial institutions for global development, thus contributing to our collective commitments for achieving the goal of strong, sustainable and balanced growth. 

12. The Bank shall have an initial authorized capital of US$ 100 billion. The initial subscribed capital shall be of US$ 50 billion, equally shared among founding members. The first chair of the Board of Governors shall be from Russia. The first chair of the Board of Directors shall be from Brazil. The first President of the Bank shall be from India. The headquarters of the Bank shall be located in Shanghai. The New Development Bank Africa Regional Center shall be established in South Africa concurrently with the headquarters. We direct our Finance Ministers to work out the modalities for its operationalization. 

13. We are pleased to announce the signing of the Treaty for the establishment of the BRICS Contingent Reserve Arrangement (CRA) with an initial size of US$ 100 billion. This arrangement will have a positive precautionary effect, help countries forestall short-term liquidity pressures, promote further BRICS cooperation, strengthen the global financial safety net and complement existing international arrangements. We appreciate the work undertaken by our Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors. The Agreement is a framework for the provision of liquidity through currency swaps in response to actual or potential short-term balance of payments pressures. 

14. We also welcome the signing of the Memorandum of Understanding on Cooperation among BRICS Export Credit and Guarantees Agencies that will improve the support environment for increasing trade opportunities among our nations.

Quelle: Indisches Außenministerium

Wir nutzen ausschließlich technisch notwendige Cookies auf unserer Website.

Back to Top

Wir nutzen ausschließlich technisch notwendige Cookies auf unserer Website.